admin's picture
Prof. Yahya Rahmat-Samii to give Keynote

Yahya Rahmat-Samii (S’73-M’75-SM’79-F’85) is a Distinguished Professor, holder of the Northrop Grumman Chair in Electromagnetics, member of the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE), winner of the 2011 IEEE Electromagnetics Award and past Chairman of the Electrical Engineering Department, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA). He was a Senior Research Scientist with the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL), California Institute of Technology prior to joining UCLA in 1989. In summer 1986, he was a Guest Professor with the Technical University of Denmark (TUD). He has also been a consultant to numerous aerospace and wireless companies. He has been Editor and Guest editor of numerous technical journals and books. He has authored and co-authored over 1000 technical journal and conference papers and has written 35 book chapters. He is a co-author of Electromagnetic Band Gap Structures in Antenna Engineering (New York: Cambridge, 2009), Implanted Antennas in Medical Wireless Communications (Morgan & Claypool Publishers, 2006), Electromagnetic Optimization by Genetic Algorithms (New York: Wiley, 1999), and Impedance Boundary Conditions in Electromagnetics (New York: Taylor & Francis, 1995). He has received several patents. He has had pioneering research contributions in diverse areas of electromagnetics, antennas, measurement and diagnostics techniques, numerical and asymptotic methods, satellite and personal communications, human/antenna interactions, RFID and implanted antennas in medical applications, frequency selective surfaces, electromagnetic band-gap structures, applications of the genetic algorithms and particle swarm optimization, etc., (visit

Dr. Rahmat-Samii is a Fellow of the Institute of Advances in Engineering (IAE) and a member of Commissions A, B, J and K of USNC-URSI, the Antenna Measurement Techniques Association (AMTA), Sigma Xi, Eta Kappa Nu and the Electromagnetics Academy. He was Vice-President and President of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society in 1994 and 1995, respectively. He was appointed an IEEE AP-S Distinguished Lecturer and presented lectures internationally. He was a member of the Strategic Planning and Review Committee (SPARC) of the IEEE. He was the IEEE AP-S Los Angeles Chapter Chairman (1987-1989); his chapter won the best chapter awards in two consecutive years. He is listed in Who's Who in America, Who's Who in Frontiers of Science and Technology and Who's Who in Engineering. He has been the plenary and millennium session speaker at numerous national and international symposia. He has been the organizer and presenter of many successful short courses worldwide. He was a Directors and Vice President of AMTA for three years. He has been Chairman and Co-chairman of several national and international symposia. He was a member of the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) Graduate council for three years. He was the chair of USNC-URSI for the period of 2009-2011.

For his contributions, Dr. Rahmat-Samii has received numerous NASA and JPL Certificates of Recognition. In 1984, he received the Henry Booker Award from URSI, which is given triennially to the most outstanding young radio scientist in North America. Since 1987, he has been designated every three years as one of the Academy of Science’s Research Council Representatives to the URSI General Assemblies held in various parts of the world. He was also invited speaker to address the URSI 75th anniversary in Belgium. In 1992 and 1995, he received the Best Application Paper Prize Award (Wheeler Award) for papers published in 1991 and 1993 IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation. In 1999, he received the University of Illinois ECE Distinguished Alumni Award. In 2000, Prof. Rahmat-Samii received the IEEE Third Millennium Medal and the AMTA Distinguished Achievement Award. In 2001, Rahmat-Samii received an Honorary Doctorate Causa in applied physics from the University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain. In 2001, he became a Foreign Member of the Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Science and the Arts. In 2002, he received the Technical Excellence Award from JPL. He received the 2005 URSI Booker Gold Medal presented at the URSI General Assembly. He is the recipient of the 2007 Chen-To Tai Distinguished Educator Award of the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society. In 2008, he was elected to the membership of the US National Academy of Engineering (NAE). In 2009, he was selected to receive the IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society highest award, Distinguished Achievement Award, for his outstanding career contributions. He is the recipient of the 2010 UCLA School of Engineering Lockheed Martin Excellence in Teaching Award and the 2011 UCLA Distinguished Teaching Award. In 2012 he was elected as a fellow of the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES). In 2015, he received Distinguished Engineering Educator Award from The Engineer’s Council. Prof. Rahmat-Samii is the designer of the IEEE AP-S logo which is displayed on all IEEE AP-S publications.

[Taken from N. Chahat; R. Hodges; J. Sauder; M. Thomson; E. Peral; Y. Rahmat-Samii, "CubeSat deployable Ka-band mesh reflector antenna development for Earth science missions," in IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation , vol.PP, no.99, pp.1-1, doi: 10.1109/TAP.2016.2546306]